Baking / Breakfast / Dessert / Home Cooking

Classic Orange & Poppyseed Cakes

orange & poppyseed cakes

Besides serving the purpose of getting stuck in between your teeth 🙂 … Did you know poppy seeds are high in minerals like iron, zinc and magnesium?  Poppy seeds are also high in dietary fibre and contain unsaturated fatty acids that help lower cholesterol.  Some interesting nutrition facts, I guess you would have to eat large amounts of these seeds to have any major impact, however it’s pleasing to know and I always say that every bit counts.  If you have a choice of bread rolls, pick the one with the poppy seeds, rather than the plain.

Now that we have that out of the way, what about these classic orange and poppy seed cakes?  I think they are a perfect breakfast cake, they have the fruity element of oranges and the light but slightly dense texture of cake, and then hundreds of poppy seeds that add a hint of crunch.  If I ordered cake for breakfast, this would be it.

The recipe that I use comes from one of my favourite baking cook books called The Crabapple Bakery Cupcake Cookbook.  Unfortunately I have not been able to find poppy seeds in Port Moresby, and brought some back with me on my last trip from overseas, but I have a sneaky suspicion that these cakes might be available soon at an outlet in Port Moresby, so whilst you may not be able to make them yourself, you will be able to eat them nonetheless!

Happy Saturday.

Leave a Reply

