Baking / Healthy / Home

Oops, have we really run out of plain flour?

quinoabrownies

No, but that’s what I said when I needed to make these brownies.  I have been playing around with different flours for a while now, but I never thought of going near the sacred chocolate brownie and messing with it.  I subbed plain flour for a blend of quinoa, coconut and spelt flour, and the result was a perfectly tasting brownie.  If I kept it hush hush, no one would really know it was made with alternative flour.  I promise to post the recipe because this is the perfect way to enjoy something so decadent, and take in some of the benefits like low gluten and high protein.

The best thing about these brownies is that my son has eaten almost 1/5 of the batch and as I type this I am spying on my husband who is cutting a large piece for himself.  They must be good.

Leave a Reply

