Breakfast

Steamed cakes for Breaky!

putochocolatecheese

The steaming process for cakes adds far more moisture and lightness, than baking I think, and to be honest, I enjoyed the whole process because I took out the steamer which my mother gave to me… this massive two layered steamer which I remember before my brother was even born, so whilst eating conjures memories, so can the cooking process.

Where is the chocolate and cheese?  Well the cheese melted right through from the top of the cake and dissolved leaving a little hint of flavour, and the chocolate is hiding in the centre for that little surprise as you bite through the sticky moist cake.

This is a modified version of ‘Puto’ a Filipino sweet cake, typically made with rice flour and eaten as a savoury meal with blood pudding, or eaten for breakfast with salted eggs, and sweet hot chocolate.

Leave a Reply

