Home

Raw brownie – the healthy kind!

raw brownie

The first time I ever tried a raw, healthy version of a brownie I immediately liked it, there was no convincing or debating over the taste, I just fell in love with the nutty and fruity flavours, and the chewiness which so much resembles a cooked brownie.  Now I enjoy making them differently every time.  For this recipe I threw in some puffed brown rice, pistachios and shredded coconut and chopped dried figs. You can make them into little truffle balls and coat with crushed nuts, dessicated coconut or sesame seeds, or press the dough into a pan – either way, it’s a very simple recipe which I will share in my recipe section.  It’s also very adaptable to what you have on hand, and what flavours and textures you like.  I have been making these for a while now and bringing a few packets of dates and nuts back from my trips overseas, but of late I have seen many new ingredients filling the shelves in the local supermarkets here in Port Moresby and there is no excuse to not make these healthy treats wether it be for yourself or the little bundles of energy you have running around the house.  My son loves these raw brownies, to make them more child friendly, you could add chocolate bits.

Leave a Reply

